Project Runway

Here is a recap of my two most recent Project Runway experiments.

The first I made for the Halloween Party here at Youngstown, the Hive-Mind Muppet Inferno. My concept was “Project Runway goes to IKEA.” Only one person at the party properly guessed my costume, but since she was a costume designer, I felt like I hit my target audience. Most people just kind of laughed and said, “ha, IKEA bag.”

dscf1281

My second creation was for the annual Youngstown Open House in December.I did a collaboration with poet Roberto Ascalon and visual artist Seth Damm. Lots more pictures and a great post about the open house at Nonfiction Media’s Blog post.

I was performing in the “Elevator Poetry” piece and needed to construct a costume out of hotel bed sheets. We covered the inside of the elevator with bedsheets and attached my costume to them so that when I walked out of the elevator, a long train of white followed me into the hall.

bedsheetfrontbedsheetback
My secret to these creations is no patterns + $100 sewing machine + no sewing experience + one Saturday afternoon to work. If only I had a work room full of other designers I could make sassy comments and create drama with! Let me know if you want to join my own personal reality team, you can play PR with me!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by april jones on January 21, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    i am TOTALLY in.

    now to plan said seattle visit…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

