30/30 Poem Challenge Begins!

Hello world! This year, I’m taking part in something called the 30/30 poetry challenge. Along with poets from all over the country, I will be writing one poem every day for the next 30 days and posting it in a public space in its first draft, unedited form! I know. SCARY!

I figured, if I’m going to have a blog about poetry, better include some poetry. If you are also doing 30/30, leave a comment and let me know where you are posting. Also, feel free to leave any comments about my first draft poems. All comments are welcome.

Here goes:

The Scripture of Objects

Be still and unshaken.
Even if they look at you suddenly
be the surface of yourself turned out.

In an earthquake, never reach your arms
to save the Ceramics, or the careless doomed
Glass. Let Brick be the one of us who endures
in the cannons. Let Iron remind us
of our better selves.

Let even the least of us: Feather, Paper, be held holy.
It is only our daily prayers to Solidity that let the ground
exist, our submission to the Nucleus allowing the Dream
of Matter to make circus tents and bridges and false
eyelashes.

You Wood within the sound of my  voice,
and you Plaster, know this: there is no greater life
than a life of service. For this body- tableau, posture-fix,
be the holder of weight and water.  One day you will take
your rightful place among the ruins of the compost pile
and it will be there that even the Plastic among you
will find itself
made new.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by GregBee on April 2, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    OMG…I love this. Sometimes I think my own unedited work has a wonderful rawness that editing can wash away. This is beautifully raw. the words to Wood and Plaster made me hopeful.

    Reply

  2. I love this too! and I second Greg’s comments about words to Wood and Plaster. Very nice.

    Reply

  3. Posted by jeff on April 6, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Karen!

    That’s pure gold. Like the “sermon on the mount” remixed in a William S. Burroughs studio.

    Reply

  4. […] information on the 30/30 challenge, visit https://finneyfrock.wordpress.com/2009/04/01/3030-poem-challenge-begins/ Posted in Blog « Music To My Ears You can leave a response, or trackback from your own […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

