The Morrigan with me at Hugo House!

Marty McConnell, one of the Morrigan

Marty McConnell, one of the Morrigan

The Morrigan were the first all-female spoken word performance troupe I had ever seen in 2001 when they swept through Seattle like a tidal wave. I didn’t know that young female voices could be so commanding and demanding. I had never seen women my age be so powerful. I spent a youth and idea-feuled weekend with Marty McConnell, Andi Strickland and Ariana Wayans and was changed forever.

I didn’t realize what an effect that show had on my own voice until a balmy night this summer in Chicago when I found myself at a post-national slam poetry cypher in Andi Strickland’s back yard. Hearing Andi again after all these years made me realize my deep rooted connection of voice with The Morrigan.

So, that night when Andi suggested I go on the Morrigan’s Wandering Uterus Reunion Tour, I didn’t hesitate to say yes. In recent days, Andi has had to cancel due to family needs, but original member Marty McConnell and I are still on to team up our voices and sign songs of the uterus to the Pacific Northwest. We will be doing three shows, Bellingham on Monday, Hugo House in Seattle on Tuesday and the Seattle Poetry Slam on Wednesday.

Andi, Marty and Emily Kagan Trenchard

Andi, Marty and Emily Kagan Trenchard

We would love to see YOU at our show at The Richard Hugo House on Tuesday, June 16 at 7:30pm. All ages. $5. With special guests Tara Hardy and Sara Brickman.

This will be a special night of women’s voices and risky work. I truly hope you can join us.

One response to this post.

  1. I’ll be there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

