Places to Buy My Book!

I go through quiet times on the blog front. Right now, I’m knee deep in edits for my new YA book, “Celia the Dark and Weird,” forthcoming on The Viking Press in 2012. I’m attempting to live a self-imposed Writing Retreat in my own city, which can make you friends wonder why you can’t go out to dinner or attend their parties. I’m also limiting my internet time. I like to think of it as “going into my laboratory” or maybe “going into my bat cave.”

But, several people have written to me asking where they can get a copy of my book of poems, “Ceremony for the Choking Ghost.” Here are five answers.

1. Support a LOCAL bookstore! Seattle’s gem of a locally owned, hard-working bookstore, Elliott Bay Book Company is installed and open at their new Capitol Hill location. I was among the nail biters who fretted over the store leaving its Pioneer Square location, but the new space is gorgeous and has the same cozy, hard wood feel we have come to expect.

My book has been featured on an end cap in the poetry section. Eep!

The best company I can imagine

2. Another great independent book store in Seattle is Open Books: A Poem Emporium. Incredibly, Open Books is a book store devoted entirely to poetry and is one of the only of its kind. If you love poetry, plan a special trip to this place. It is worth the visit!

3. Buy it online from Write Bloody. My publisher Write Bloody has a cool website, http://writebloody.com. Check out the blog and the other authors.

4. Buy it at the Seattle Poetry Slam. Because of my Retreat, I’m not hitting the slam every week. I can guarantee my attendance on July 20 and July 27 to see slam legend Taylor Mali (7/20) and our National Slam Team Feature (7/27).

5. Good old Amazon.

Thanks for asking. Thanks to the people who wrote and said they liked it. It was such a sweet dream getting this book of poems finished and I appreciate everyone who helped make it a success.

One response to this post.

  1. Those endcap books are golden.

    Every sane and/or smart person should go and pick that beautiful choking ghost book up in your actual hands, flip through the pages to confirm what you suspect, and then buy it with money from your actual pocket.

    Because it is brilliant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

